Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2016 winning authors revealed

BGE IBA 2016Winners include: Marian Keyes, Graham Norton, Mike McCormack, Paul Howard, Paul O’ Connell, Sinéad Gleeson, The Happy Pear, Tana French, Liz Nugent, Dave Rudden, Kathleen Watkins and E.M. Reapy


Marian Keyes, Graham Norton, Mike McCormack, Paul O’ Connell and Tana French were some of the winning authors named at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards held in Dublin.

Renowned poet John Montague was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award and bestselling author Jilly Cooper was the recipient of the Bord Gáis Energy International Recognition Award – a special award made to international authors who have contributed substantially to the health and wealth of the Irish book-trade.

Now in its 11th year, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in Dublin’s Double Tree Hilton and was attended by Ireland’s top writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities including writers Sebastian Barry, Maggie O’ Farrell, Donal Ryan, Marita Conlon McKenna, Roddy Doyle, Cecelia Ahern, Michael Harding, John Bowman, and Fintan O’ Toole, media personalities Gay Byrne, Ryan Tubridy, Jason Byrne, Pippa O’ Connor, and Louise McSharry, food writers Indy Power, Sophie White and Roz Purcell, and sports stars Jason McAteer , Donal Lenihan, and Cathal McCarron.

The full list of winners in the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2016’ are:

The Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

Solar Bones – Mike McCormack (Tramp Press)


The Best Irish Published Book of the Year

The Glass Shore – edited by Sinéad Gleeson (New Island Books)


The Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Red Dirt – E.M. Reapy (Head of Zeus)


The National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year

I Read The News Today, Oh Boy – Paul Howard (Picador)


RTE Radio One’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener’s Choice Award

Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)


The Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)

Pigín of Howth – Kathleen Watkins, illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs (Gill Books)


The Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)

Knights of the Borrowed Dark – Dave Rudden (Puffin)


The Avonmore Cookbook of the Year

The World of The Happy Pear – Stephen and David Flynn (Penguin Ireland)


The Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year

Holding – Graham Norton (Hodder & Stoughton)


The Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Making It Up As I Go Along – Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)


The Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

The Battle – Paul O’Connell (Penguin Ireland)


The Books Are My Bag Crime Fiction Book of the Year

The Trespasser – Tana French (Hachette Ireland)


The Short Story of the Year Award

The Visit – Orla McAlinden (Sowilo Press)


The Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year

In Glasnevin – Jane Clarke (From: The Irish Times)


Commenting on this year’s winners, Larry MacHale, Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Chairperson, said:

“I would like to extend my heartfelt congratulations to all of this year’s winning authors.  The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards was founded to celebrate and promote Irish writing to the widest range of readers possible. Each year it brings together a huge community passionate about books – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers and librarians – to recognise and celebrate the very best Irish writing talent.”

Dave Kirwan, Managing Director at Bord Gáis Energy, added:

‘The Bord Gáis Energy Irish Books Awards is a fantastic celebration of writing and is widely regarded as the highlight of the Irish literary calendar. There was an extremely high standard in this year’s shortlist and I’d like to congratulate the winning authors and wish them every success in the future. I also look forward to the reveal of overall ‘Book of the Year’ next month and encourage the public to get behind their favourite authors in what will be a tough competition.’

This year, over 45,000 readers and book lovers made their voices heard and voted to select the winners in each category. From tomorrow (17 November 2016), the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ by going to Voting is open until midnight on 9th December and anyone who votes is in with the chance of winning €100 in National Book Tokens. Previous winners of the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ include Louise O’ Neil for Asking for It, Mary Costello for Academy St, Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart, Michael Harding for Staring at Lakes, and Belinda McKeon for Solace.

This year’s awards ceremony was presented by Keelin Shanley and each winning author was interviewed by RTÉ’s Evelyn O’ Rourke in the Bord Gáis Energy Green Room. These interviews, along with highlights from the awards ceremony, will be broadcast on RTÉ One on Saturday, 19th November at 11.15pm.

For further information, please log on to the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website