Winners of Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2017 revealed

Winners include Bernard MacLaverty, Marian Keyes, Ruth Fitzmaurice, Fergal Keane, John Connolly, Philly McMahon with Niall Kelly, Sarah Webb with illustrator Steve Mc Carthy, Julie Parsons and Darach Ó Séaghdha


Bernard MacLaverty, Marian Keyes, Judi Curtin, Rory O’ Connell and Ruth Fitzmaurice were some of the winning authors named at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards held in Dublin this evening. 

Renowned poet Eavan Boland was presented with the Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award and bestselling children’s author David Walliams was the recipient of the Bord Gáis Energy International Recognition Award – a special award made to international authors who have contributed substantially to the health and wealth of the Irish book-trade. 

Now in its 12th year, the star-studded awards ceremony took place in Dublin’s Clayton Hotel, Burlington Road and was attended by Ireland’s top writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities including writers Sinéad Moriarty, John Banville, Roddy Doyle, Eoin Colfer, Paul Howard, media personalities Roz Purcell, Ryan Tubridy, Vogue Williams and Caitríona Perry, food writers Rory O’ Connell, Rachel Allen and Neven Maguire and sports stars Shay Given, Philly Mc Mahon, and Colm Cooper.  

Below is the full list of winners for the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2017’: Best Irish Published Book of the Year

  • Atlas of the Revolution – John Crowley, Donál Ó Drisceoil, Mike Murphy and John Borgonovo (Cork University Press)

National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)

  • A Sailor Went to Sea, Sea, Sea – Favourite Rhymes from an Irish Childhood – Sarah Webb illustrated by Steve Mc Carthy (The O’ Brien Press)

National Book Tokens Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)

  • Stand by Me – Judi Curtin (The O’ Brien Press)

Dept 51@Eason Teen / Young Adult Book of the Year

  • Tangleweed and Brine – Deirdre Sullivan illustrated by Karen Vaughan (Little Island)

Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

  • Midwinter Break – Bernard MacLaverty (Jonathan Cape)

Specsavers Popular Fiction Book of the Year

  • The Break – Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

  • The Therapy House – Julie Parsons (New Island Books)

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

  • I Found my Tribe – Ruth Fitzmaurice (Chatto & Windus)

Onside Non-Fiction Book of the Year

  • Wounds: A Memoir of War & Love – Fergal Keane (Williams Collins)

Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

  • Motherfoclóir – Darach Ó Séaghdha (Head of Zeus)

EUROSPAR Cookbook of the Year

  • Cook Well, Eat Well – Rory O’ Connell (Gill Books)

Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

  • The Choice – Philly McMahon with Niall Kelly (Gill Books)

RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listener’s Choice Award

  • he: A novel – John Connolly (Hodder & Stoughton)

Listowel Writer’s Week Irish Poem of the Year

  • Seven Sugar Cubes – Clodagh Beresford Dunne (From the Irish Times)

Writing,ie Short Story of the Year

  • Back to Bones – Christine Dwyer Hickey (Longlisted for Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award)


Commenting on this year’s winners, Larry Mac Hale, Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards Chairperson, said:

“When you scan the list of award winners, it makes you feel proud to be part of an industry that produces so many great Irish writers. Across all genres, every kind of fiction, nonfiction, and children’s books, we’re seeing brand names at the very top of their game. What’s even more encouraging is the number of young writers who are breaking through every year. Irish writing is in good hands and I really hope that more and more people will support them by giving books for Christmas this year.”

Dave Kirwan, Managing Director of Bord Gáis Energy, added,On behalf of Bord Gáis Energy, I’d like to offer my sincerest congratulations to each of the award-winners. Across all categories, we have seen just why Irish literature is held in such high regard around the world. The 2017 Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards have shown, yet again, that we in Ireland are blessed with a huge amount of literary talent, so to receive one of these awards is a significant achievement indeed. The quality of the shortlisted entries across each of the categories was incredibly high, and I hope that this year’s event will inspire those who perhaps didn’t win an award this year to enter again in the coming years.  Finally, I’d like to sincerely thank Alastair Giles and the organising committee, and my own team in Bord Gáis Energy, for all of their hard work in bringing this year’s event to such a successful conclusion.”

This year, in excess of 50,000 readers and book lovers made their voices heard and voted to select the winners in each category. From tomorrow (29th November 2017), the public can vote for their overall ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ by going to Voting is open until midday on 15th December and anyone who votes is in with the chance of winning €100 in National Book Tokens. Previous winners of the ‘Bord Gáis Energy Book of the Year’ include Mike Mc Cormack for Solar Bones, Louise O’ Neil for Asking for It, Mary Costello for Academy St, Donal Ryan for The Spinning Heart, Michael Harding for Staring at Lakes, and Belinda McKeon for Solace.

This year’s awards ceremony was presented by Keelin Shanley and Evelyn O’ Rourke, with each winning author interviewed by RTÉ’s Evelyn O’ Rourke in the Bord Gáis Energy Green Room. These interviews, along with highlights from the awards ceremony, will be broadcast on RTÉ One during the primetime slot of 9:30pm on Wednesday, 29th November 2017.


For further information, please log on to the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards website


Follow us on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter for regular updates

Facebook: @BGEIrishBookAwards

Instagram: @bge_irishbookawards

Twitter: @BGEIBAS